Skip to Main Content

Governor’s Commission on Service and Volunteerism

Purpose of the Commission

As one of 52 State Service Commissions, the Maryland State Service Commission includes the Governor’s Office on Service and Volunteerism and the Governor’s Commission on Service and Volunteerism. The commission was created and appointed by the Governor in 1994 to review and approve all AmeriCorps State funding in Maryland and to serve as a body of ambassadors for service and volunteerism in local communities. With the Governor’s approval, the Commission may apply to the Corporation for National and Community Service, the federal agency that manages AmeriCorps, and other public and private sources for additional funding. Under the National and Community Service Trust Act of 1993, Governor-appointed service commissions are required to oversee each state’s AmeriCorps activities and resources. The Act also requires each state to develop, update, and implement a three-year strategic plan for service which sets funding and program priorities for allocation of AmeriCorps funds and promotes volunteerism and community service broadly.

Upcoming Meetings

December 14, 2023 Community College of Baltimore County (hybrid meeting) 9:30 AM Copy Clipboard, Memory, Editor, Copy, Paste, Document Vector SVG Icon - SVG  Repo
March 14, 2024

Governor’s Reception Room, Maryland State House (Hybrid Meeting) – Zoom

9:30 AM  
May 9, 2024 The Packing House (411 Dorchester Ave., Cambridge, MD 21613) (Hybrid Meeting) – Zoom 10:30 AM  
October 10, 2024 Location TBD (Hybrid Meeting) 9:00 AM  
December 12, 2024 Location TBD (Hybrid Meeting) 9:00 AM  
*Please Note. After registering, you will receive a confirmation email containing information about joining the meeting.


The Commission consists of Governor-appointed representatives and community members, with significant experience and knowledge of issues related to service and volunteerism, who serve three-year terms.

2024 Board Members

Arundhati (Aru) Rao, Chair

Alison Vogrin

Barbara Stewart

Candace Dodson-Reed

Dominic Henry

Donald Hackett

Grace Jiang, Youth Commissioner

Jody Olsen

John Barr

John Brothers

Kyle Lierman

Lauren McKinley

Phyllis Coley

Todd Eberly

Customer Service Promise

The State of Maryland pledges to provide constituents, businesses, customers, and stakeholders with friendly and courteous, timely and responsive, accurate and consistent, accessible and convenient, and truthful and transparent services.
Take Our Survey

Human Trafficking GET HELP

National Human Trafficking Hotline - 24/7 Confidential
More Information on human trafficking in Maryland